Want to reach career goals? Follow this simple morning routine.

Via @mindbodygreen

Original article by Tyler C Beaty

“For the past 12 years, I’ve worked from home. For 11 of those years, I was working for other people. On my typical day, after hitting the snooze button too many times to count, I’d crawl out of bed…” [1]

Sound familiar? To me it does. I’ve been a stay-at-home-mom for 16 years, but after finding myself in pj’s and still struggling to feed the baby around noon one day, I decided to venture out and DO something with my life.

I studied for a degree in Counseling and decided to further this experience by founding a NPO focusing on the needs of the poor in my community. But still, I got stuck in this rut. Most nights I’d lie awake, waiting for the awful sound of happy little birds twittering hello to the morning (how dare they sound so happy?). I’d worry about the next day and then, when it dawned, it would be business as usual. Kids off to school, husband off to work, household chores done, e-mails, social media….on and on it went….a seemingly useless cycle repeating itself day in and day out. Point is, I was getting nowhere. Worse, I was getting depressed because I felt like I was not doing anything useful.

Reading this article I couldn’t help but smile…..I’m slowly getting into the ”program” suggested by the author and finally I’ve found that I can actually live a useful life. I can actually reach the goals I’ve set for myself. I’m finally taking charge of every day.

Have a read below, I’ve pointed out the different steps suggested by the author, steps you can take to regain control of your days and thus reach your career goals – become what YOU have dreamed of and not what your chaotic life allows you to become. Please DO read the full article here for a more detailed discussion.

  1. Prepare the night before
  2. Meditate
  3. Visualize
  4. Get inspired
  5. Exercise
  6. Keep a journal
  7. Stretch

[Read more details of these 7 points here.]

Ask yourself the question: Do you own your days?

Source:

[1] A Simple Morning Routine That Helped Me Reach My Career Goals & Make More Money – mindbodygreen.com

ixhq7m_p_reasonably_small111

Leave a Reply

